APC’s Chike Okafor wins Okigwe south federal constituency rerun election


After a long wait, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has finally collated the results of votes cast on the 23rd of February for National Assembly elections and the supplementary elections of March 9 and thereafter declared Hon. Chike Okafor of the All Progressive Congress, APC, the winner of Okigwe South Federal Constituency election having fulfilled the law.

It wasn’t an easy victory, as Deacon Chike John Okafor breaks the jinx and returned to the National Assembly to represent Ehime-Mbano, Ihitte Uboma and Obowo federal constituency after his fruitful first term. He is the first to represent the federal constituency twice.

Chike defeated his closest rival, Hon Jonas Okeke of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to emerge victorious.

Others who contested with him are Hon Emeka Nwajiuba of the Accord Party, Hon Austin Nwachukwu of the Action Alliance, Dr Mrs Ijeoma of the All Progressives Grand Alliance and Sir Ikenna Chukwuocha of the Labour Party.